on the South Florida Fairgrounds at 9067 Southern Blvd., in West Palm
Beach, Florida, visitors will find the historic Yesteryear Village,
comprising of a collection of more than 20 restored buildings from all
over Florida, most of which date back to the turn of the century
through the early 30s and 40s.
of the School House (left) from the Bink Glisson Museum yard.
first building to -- the one that started it all -- was the
Loxahatchee Two Room School House. It now houses a school room on one
side and the World War II Museum on the other.
Riddle House, a beautiful three story frame house, was built in the
early 1900s. It was known as The Painted Lady because of its bright
painted colors of Flagler yellow, Jefferson green, white and sky blue.
(The underside of the wrap around porch roof is painted sky blue which
was said to discourage carpenter bees from making their home in the
rafters.) Built by some of Henry Flagler's hotel construction workers
and using some of the materials from the hotel construction, the
Riddle house was erected on the Jefferson Park land owned by Joseph
Jefferson, the most famous American actor of the time. It became the
home for the first West Palm Beach City Manager and Superintendent of
Public Works, Karl Riddle. The house was donated to the Village by
West Palm Beach.
Bink Glisson Historical Museum was built entirely by volunteers and
donations of materials and remains the largest single contribution to
the Village, valued at $450,000, and is a replica of the 1858 Haile
Plantation House which still stands in Alachua County, Florida. It
houses artifacts from the late Bink Glisson's collection. Mr.
Glisson's family came to the area in the early 20s and he was very
instrumental in the development of Wellington, Florida.
of the Church (right) from the porch of the Riddle House.
buildings at the Village include the L Street House, Sewing Circle,
Smoke House (it is in operation during the Fair), the Fish & Bait
House, Church, Corbett House, Fire Museum, Print Shop, Wood Shop,
General Store where visitors can purchase period merchandise,
preserves, some baked goodies, candies and more,
Bridge Tender's House, Seller's Farm, Blacksmith Shop, Post Office,
entrance to the Village is graced by the 1934 West Palm Beach Country
Club Arch Donated by the Town of Golfview, Florida.
Yesteryear Village is "populated" by a "community"
of volunteer reenactors in period dress. There are quilters, candle makers, weavers, spinners, woodworkers, leather
craftsmen, and more. You will experience the sights, smells and
sounds of old Florida. The village is a product of the hard work and
dedication of these volunteers.
The Village is
open year round for group tours by appointment.
more information, please call (561) 795-3110.